Skip to content

1776 being remade

November 7, 2006

For some unknown reason, well, beyond the lack of creativity in Hollywood, the classic 1776 is being remade. Granted, the production value of the first was minimal, but the cast was fantastic and the shot selection charming at the least. In my mind, the hardest roles to fill would be Franklin and Rutledge as they are so integral to the dynamic of the movie.

We were sitting around last night while watching the original, and were trying to figure out who we would cast. Granted, we are assuming that these people can sing a bit, but vocal ability doesn’t have to be superior. After all, with the exception of Rutledge and the boy who sings “Mama, Look Sharp,” no part is overly demanding in the vocal department. With that in mind, here is my ideal cast for the remake. Feel free to help fill in any spots, or mention better candidates.

Adams = The problem with Adams is height. He was only 5′ 7.” It pains me to even mention it, but Tom Cruise is the right height, and he is obnoxious and disliked.

Franklin = Michael Crawford is a about ten years too young, but is about the right height. I’ve seen video of him in concert, and his work on Hello Dolly. He is witty enough. Slap a whig on him, age him, and he should be ok as long as he sings a tad under his full ability.

Jefferson = Paul Bettany is about the right height, and has fair skin. If he were a bit more solid in the frame he’d be perfect.

Dickinson = Jason Isaacs is perfect for the part, and I would like to see him in the remake more than anyone. Besides, I want to see him in more roles.

Rutledge = Ewan McGregor would work here I think. It would be nice to see him play a character that’s a bit hard-nosed for a change.

Hopkins = I dunno. Maybe Kevin Spacey? Yeah, he is younger than Hopkins, who was 69, but you could make him look older.

Hancock = No idea. John C. Reilly maybe?

Lee = Hugh Jackman could probably pull it off quite well. We’d talked about him playing Jefferson, as he was the right height, but I would rather a more fair-skinned actor play Jefferson, and I think Jackman could be silly enough.

McKean = Ron Perlman is one of my favorite actors, and I would love to see him in on the action.

Rodney = I dunno. Maybe Seymour Cassel? Although, he is about 20 years too old.

Martha Jefferson = Gwyneth Paltrow would be a nice touch given the fact that her mother starred in the original. Paltrow might be a tad too old though, and it’s not like I really like her that much.

Abigail Adams = Kate Winslet mostly because she is my favorite actress still living.

Secretary Thomson = Brent Spiner. He played Adams on Broadway, it would be funny to use him somehow.

I would like to see some British actors in the film assuming they would be willing to play Yanks during the Revolution. Whatever the case, I hope Matthew Broderick and Nathan Lane don’t make the cut. I like them both, but not for this. Man, I just had a nightmare image of Lane as Ben Franklin. Please, no. The more I look, the more obvious Broderick becomes as Adams. He is 5′ 8″ and around the right age. Crap.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2006 3:50 pm

    Thought of someone else for Franklin. He’s a bit too tall, but Franklin sits most of the time anyway.

    Kelsey Grammer.

  2. November 8, 2006 5:53 pm

    I was watching Seinfeld today. Perhaps Jason Alexander could be involved as the congressman from New York.

    Wait.

    Scratch that. He could be John Adams. He is slightly shorter than Adams was, but he is about the right shape. Hmm. I think he could pull it off, and that would keep Broderick out of it.

Leave a Reply

