Skip to content

Chris Barrie

March 28, 2007

Taken in 2004.

Chris Barrie is best known as playing Arnold Judas Rimmer in Red Dwarf.  He also had another sitcom called The Brittas Empire, but despite his exceptional talent, the show kind of sucked.  He had an awesome guest role as a French revolutionary in Blackadder the Third, and has done a lot of roles not well known to American audiences.  He did appear in both Lara Croft: Tomb Raider, and Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life, neither of which I can recommend.  I started watching the first one just because he was in it, and I turned the movie off about 3 minutes into the film.  No exaggeration.  I just cannot abide Angelina Jolie‘s nasty mug.  Barrie has a film due out in 2007 entitled, Back in Business.  It appears any chance of the Red Dwarf movie being made is gone.  That seems like a waste of a strong fan-base.

Barrie is 47.

Other birthdays: Vince Vaughn, Julia Stiles, Dianne Wiest, Richard Kelly, and Ken Howard.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2007 12:34 pm

    I know you don’t like Jolie, but Tomb Raider 2 is better than 1. We really liked it. But I guess if you didn’t like the main actor, than maybe it would ruin the whole thing for you. To bad, because it really was quite good.

  2. March 28, 2007 1:23 pm

    If I have watched every other movie I want to see, then I might consider giving it a shot.

  3. Webby permalink
    March 29, 2007 1:45 pm

    But ya have to agree that Angelina does look a lot like Lara Croft in the game, right? I think they should have dubbed her voice with the woman that voiced Lara in the game though.

  4. March 29, 2007 4:55 pm

    I never found Lara Croft to be revolting until the movies came out. Then again, I didn’t give it much thought till the movies came out either.

  5. killyrboyfriend permalink
    April 2, 2009 12:27 am

    Brittas Empire was brilliant! Gordon Brittas was FIT, hmm.

  6. April 2, 2009 12:52 am

    Brittas had its moments, but it dragged a lot too. Dwarf was more consistently funny as a whole. Then again, I haven’t watched every episode of Brittas. I have them on DVD, I guess I should finish out the series.

  7. WYSIWYG permalink
    August 19, 2009 9:05 pm

    RD is a classic…. BE is a classic. Whilst both different settings, one outer space the other a Leisure Center, they are both classics and have their cult following.
    So I disagree, BE did not kinda suck

  8. August 19, 2009 10:55 pm

    To each his own. I feel Chris Barrie was excellent in BE, but the show as a whole was weak.

Leave a Reply

