Skip to content

Nancy McKeon

April 4, 2007

From the early days. From 2004.

Apparently, Nancy McKeon started off doing voice-over work for cartoons. Then in 1980, along came one of the greatest shows to ever grace the television screen, The Facts of Life. OK, maybe not THE greatest show, but when I was younger I loved it, and as I am writing this I have the theme song looping. The draw of the show is obvious, a house full of girls. I still get excited (any adjective here could be an double entendre) whenever there is a Facts of Life marathon. I wish TV Land would just show it

Jo was, and is still, my favorite. I’m not entirely sure why, but starring in High School U.S.A. and Poison Ivy certainly didn’t hurt. I consider them, honestly, to be among the best 80s films made. Granted, both were for TV, but the casts were incredible, and I still watch them about once a year. Poison Ivy was particularly relevant to me. I had a crush on McKeon, and was painfully allergic to poison ivy. I’ll tell you this, as much as I loved Nancy McKeon, I wouldn’t have rolled in Poison Ivy for her. Maybe I would have for Markie Post, but that’s another story.

McKeon hasn’t done a whole lot since the horrible Facts of Life Down Under show. As an 8-year-old fan of the show, I was disgusted. McKeon has done some guest spots here and there, and had a series or two I think, but nothing consistent. I think a Facts of Life special is obviously in order as a school reunion. For that matter, a High School U.S.A. reunion show would be awesome. You could write Michael J. Fox‘s condition into the show, and Todd Bridges character could be researching a cure. I’d watch it.

McKeon is 41.

Other birthdays: Heath Ledger, Robert Downey Jr., Christine Lahti, Hugo Weaving, David Blaine, Jamie Lyn Spears, Crag T. Nelson, and Maya Angelou.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2007 2:19 pm

    You take the good, you take the bad,
    you take them both and there you have
    The Facts of Life, the Facts of Life.

    There’s a time you got to go and show
    You’re growin’ now you know about
    The Facts of Life, the Facts of Life.

    When the world never seems
    to be livin up to your dreams
    And suddenly you’re finding out
    the Facts of Life are all about you, you.

    It takes a lot to get ’em right
    When you’re learning the Facts of Life. (learning the Facts of Life)
    Learning the Facts of Life (learning the Facts of Life)
    Learning the Facts of Life.

  2. Webby permalink
    April 4, 2007 4:58 pm

    If it weren’t for Nancy would you have picked Hugo Weaving? Cause he is pretty spiffy dontcha know.

  3. April 4, 2007 11:44 pm

    More than likely Hugo was the next choice for V for Vendetta, The Matrix, and LOTR, but Heath Ledger would have been a close third because I hate him and because of the new Batman flick. Both finished a distant third to Nancy McKeon.

Leave a Reply

