Skip to content

Hail the fallen hero

April 13, 2007

Sniff.

My projector had to be put down tonight.

I bought my BenQ PB6100 DLP projector in September of 2005, and have used it heavily ever since. As Joshua and I were watching the Star Wars movies in order of number we noticed that the picture just kept getting worse and worse. By the time we got to Episode IV we decided to watch on the TV instead, and were thrilled to be able to see it in all its glory. I rearranged the necessary wires, and we can now watch the computer on the TV too.

This projector was intended to be a baby step into the projecting aspect of home theater, and I always knew that the replacement lamps were the drawback of projectors, but I figured I would get a little longer out of it. My projector display says that the lamp had run over 1600 hours, but it was supposed to last 2000. I looked to see how much a replacement lamp would run, and the cheapest I found it was for around $270. Needless to say, I think I can safely pack the big screen downstairs for a bit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

