Skip to content

I can’t get this darn song out of my head!

April 20, 2007

I’m a big fan of the Digital Shorts on Saturday Night Live. With the exception of two cast members, one in particular – I’m looking right at you, Seth Meyers; I think the cast is pretty strong right now. Anyway, on the most recent episode which was hosted by Shia LaBeouf, whom I’ve liked for a long time from his days on Even Stevens, there was a strange but hilarious short. I would show it to you if NBC wasn’t exceedingly retarded about their policies.*

I mean crap sake, YouTube is a giant, free commercial! It only makes sense to air short clips in order to gain new viewers.

Anyway, during the short, a song by Imogen Heap was used to perfection. The song intrigued me, and I ‘acquired’ a copy. Now, I can’t get it out of my head. It’s been playing non-stop for the last 30 hours or so. You can see the video here, and then suffer the same fate.

*: Just found another copy here. The resolution is pooched, and I can’t verify the content of the rest of the site, but at least you can see it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    April 20, 2007 10:57 am

    I can’t stop watching the music video or the SNL short. The SNL short is very odd but funny especially when the 3 guys keep shooting the sister who walks in and the music keeps restarting. I thought SNL had started to really suck but if they do skits like this more often I would watch more.

  2. April 20, 2007 11:01 am

    I’m telling you, the current cast is pretty solid with the exception of Seth Meyers and maybe one other guy. The women cast members are all awesome, and the the rest of the guys are solid. The two that do the digital shorts are really good. You should try checking out the other digital shorts, like laser cats.

  3. Webby permalink
    April 20, 2007 7:27 pm

    I like her voice it sounds like a keyboard (or three) singing. haha Makes a lot since, right? Although…I have no idea what she was singing. It sounded cool though. It’s not one of those songs that can get stuck in my head cause it doesn’t have background music. Which is why it’s so strangely haunting.

  4. April 21, 2007 1:16 am

    Yeah, she does a lot of electronica, which explains the effects on her voice. It definitely gives it a synth feel. Here are the lyrics:

    where are we?
    what the hell is going on?
    the dust has only just begun to fall
    crop circles in the carpet
    sinking, feeling

    spin me round again
    and rub my eyes,
    this can’t be happening
    when busy streets a mess with people
    would stop to hold their heads heavy

    hide and seek
    trains and sewing machines
    all those years
    they were here first

    oily marks appear on walls
    where pleasure moments hung before the takeover,
    the sweeping insensitivity of this still life

    hide and seek
    trains and sewing machines (you won’t catch me around here)
    blood and tears
    they were here first

    Mmmm what do you say,
    Mmmm that you only meant well?
    well of course you did
    Mmmm what do you say,
    Mmmm that’s all for the best?
    ah of course it is
    Mmmm what do you say?
    Mmmm that it’s just what we need
    you decided this
    Mmmm what do you say?
    Mmmm what did she say?

    ransom notes keep falling out your mouth
    mid-sweet talk, newspaper word cut outs
    speak no feeling
    no I don’t believe you
    you don’t care a bit,
    you don’t care a bit

    (hide and seek)
    ransom notes keep falling out your mouth
    midsweet talk, newspaper word cut outs

    (hide and seek)
    speak no feeling
    no, I don’t believe you
    you don’t care a bit,
    you don’t care a bit

    (hide and seek)
    oh no, you don’t care a bit
    oh no, you don’t care a bit

    (hide and seek)
    oh no, you don’t care a bit
    you don’t care a bit
    you don’t care a bit

Leave a Reply

