Skip to content

Jean-Pierre Jeunet

September 3, 2007

A French filmmaker who makes freaky films.

Jean-Pierre Jeunet makes great films.  He did five films that I haven’t seen prior to Delicatessen, but I have seen all of his movies since then including The City of Lost Children, Alien: Resurrection, Amelie, and A Very Long Engagement.  Each of those films are excellent.  I love that he uses the same actors and actresses, and the visual feel of his films is fantastic.  My only gripe with Jeunet is that he doesn’t make many movies, but I suppose that could add to the quality of the films he does do.

Right now he is in pre-production for Life of Pi which is due out in 2009.

Jeunet is 54.

Other birthdays: Charlie Sheen, Eileen Brennan, Valerie Perrine, and Costas Mandylor.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Randolph's Shorty permalink
    September 6, 2007 12:42 pm

    I’m rather proud of you for including the proper accents (especially the cédille in fiançailles, which I had some trouble replicating here).

    How sad that you manage such correctness, yet after nearly eight years I can’t get your no-good brother to learn French? Sighs.

  2. September 6, 2007 1:06 pm

    Trust me, it took little to no effort on my part. I just copied and pasted their original titles from IMDB. They did the work. I wouldn’t have gone through the effort.

    I’m telling you, they should air foreign language versions of Sesame Street. That’s about the only chance I have of learning another language, and I bet he’d be much more apt to learn French that way.

Leave a Reply

