Skip to content

Video Vault I

September 14, 2007

The other day I was watching Love Actually, and it used some awesome songs in the soundtrack.  For some reason, that spawned the idea of collecting a bunch of songs that I think would work really well for soundtracks.  I will do that post next.  This is a collection of several great songs that have already been used.

Crowded House – "Don’t Dream It’s Over"

I’m not sure if it’s been in any movies, but it almost assuredly has.  I do know that it was used, and fairly well, in the TV mini-series based on the Stephen King book of same name, The Stand.

The Beach Boys – "God Only Knows"

This is actually the song that sparked the post.  It was used quite well in Love Actually, and probably many other films.  It doesn’t hurt that this could very well be the best pop/rock song ever written.

Gary Jules – "Mad World"

This is actually a cover of the Tears for Fears song, and while I love the original this reinterpretation was used to perfection in "Donnie Darko."  It would hurt my feelings to see the original used either.

Antony and the Johnsons – "Hope There’s Someone"

They used this song on an episode of the Doctor Who spin-off, Torchwood, and did so quite well.  I loved the scene so much that I got a copy of the album, and would really like to see the song used in a movie.

Rufus Wainwright – "Hallelujah"

This too is a cover.  In fact, this Leonard Cohen song has been covered several times, and each version brings a slightly different take to it.  This particular version was used for Shrek.

Kansas – "Dust in the Wind"

I’m sure it must have been used several times, but the Will Ferrell cover in Old School is perhaps the most memorable.  If the original hasn’t been used, then it should be.

Cyndi Lauper – "Time After Time"

Again, this song has undoubtedly been used a great deal, but one of my favorite uses was by Ethan Suplee‘s Randy on My Name is Earl.

The Mamas and the Papas – "California Dreamin’ "

Forrest Gump used several great songs, and this is one of them.

Queen – "Who Wants to Live Forever"

I’m not a huge fan of the Highlander film, but I still think this is Queen’s best song and that is saying something.

System of a Down – "Lonely Day"

Considering it was just a modern retelling of Rear Window, I actually liked Disturbia, and it used this song fairly well, even if a bit obvious.

Elliott Smith – "Needle in the Hay"

This song was used masterfully in The Royal Tenenbaums.  I would show the clip from the film, but a lot of the power of the scene is derived from the story building to that point.  Instead, enjoy this live version.

The Who – "Behind Blue Eyes"

I’m not sure if the original has been used, but Limp Bizkit‘s version was used for Gothika.  The original should be used if it hasn’t been already.

Limp Bizkit – "Behind Blue Eyes"

This is the aforementioned cover, and I really only post it here because I love Halle Berry

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Webby permalink
    September 14, 2007 6:19 pm

    System of a Down – “Lonely Day”
    I don’t particularly like this song. I think that guy looks like a freaky version of Pee Wee Herman and I don’t like his voice.

  2. September 14, 2007 6:40 pm

    Haha, yeah he does look like a cross between Pee-Wee and Tony Lash.

    I don’t like his voice as much as Serj’s, but there is something about people singing the songs that they wrote. They tend to be a tad more organic. I’ve gotten to the point now that I actually like the guy’s voice.

  3. September 24, 2007 9:29 pm

    What, you mean that Buck Rogers or Wayne’s World theme song is their best effort?! Well then it must be We Are the Champions, surely!

    hehe

    I’ve never heard this song. I hope it wasn’t written just for Highlander. Freddy Mercury…what an incredible rock voice! And Brian May, such talent. And yet, I don’t look at any of their songs and really feel moved. I just never got into them, but I have a great deal of respect for them. I really do like Bohemian Rhapsody though.

  4. September 25, 2007 1:54 am

    Bah.

    Queen has an impressive catalog of music. Much of it is crap, but they had tons of great stuff too. I’m not sure if this song was written specifically for Highlander, but they did do the entire soundtrack as they did for Flash Gordon. Both soundtracks are good, but the Highlander one is much better.

    Bohemian Rhapsody and their rock anthems are fun, but I prefer their moodier stuff like Who Wants to Live Forever (which was written by May who also sang as a duet with Mercury) and Innuendo. I think their sound took a decidedly different tone once Freddie was faced with his waning mortality.

Leave a Reply

