Skip to content

Video Vault II

September 14, 2007

These videos might have been used already, but I can’t think of any movie that has used them yet.  If you can think of their use in film, let me know.

The Grass Roots – "Let’s Live for Today"

This is easily one of my all-time favorite songs.  Note the guitarist standing next to the drummer.  His name is Creed Bratton, and he now stars on the U.S. version of The Office.

Jim Croce – "Time in a Bottle"

This song is just great.

John Denver & Mama Cass – "Leaving on a Jet Plane"

This is a great performance by two awesome performers on The Midnight Special.  I’m not sure if there is a better mix of these two singing this song, but I wish there was.

Apocalyptica – "Bittersweet"

This version has the guest vocalists, but the instrumental version could also easily be used for a soundtrack, or better yet, use both versions at different times in the film.

Phil Collins – "In the Air Tonight"

This is a great mood song.

Billy Joel – "Lullabye – Goodnight, My Angel"

This is probably my favorite Billy Joel song.

John Lennon – "Working Class Hero"

This is an excellent tribute video, and the song would work great in film.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Webby permalink
    September 14, 2007 6:40 pm

    I found this vid on youtube awhile back. This is the vid of Underworld put to the music of Apocalyptica’s – Hope Vol. 2. I like it except for the part where Selene chops Victor’s head in half. That’s stupid. http://www.youtube.com/my_playlists?p=E795E1754CE17846&page=3

  2. September 14, 2007 8:15 pm

    I’ve never seen Underworld, and that link didn’t work for me.

  3. Webby permalink
    September 15, 2007 9:26 pm

    Oh, sorry. Here it is. Underworld is a good vampire movie but not nearly as good as Queen of the Damned. I finally got to see that! WOOT! :D

  4. September 24, 2007 9:32 pm

    man, that John Lennon song is awesome! Can you find me a copy of it sometime? I’d like to learn to play it…minus the profanity of course. But what a great song as only J. Lennon could do. I’ve never heard it before now. Thanks for sharing.

  5. September 24, 2007 9:39 pm

    Wow, that Billy Joel is quite an amazing talent, eh?! I’ve never heard that one either. I have his greatest hits (or used to…I don’t remember seeing it in my cd collection, now that I think about it!!! grrr – that makes me mad!), and know that one isn’t on there. But a great song…kinda sad, eh? And of course, very sweet and poignant too. Good stuff, Fan!

  6. September 25, 2007 1:43 am

    The Billy Joel song was on his Greatest Hits Volume III. I believe you have his two disc Greatest Hits Volume I and II.

    The John Lennon song is indeed awesome. I can hook you up some time. Ozzy did a cover of it recently (as he’s a huge Beatles fan) and so did Green Day. Neither version is much different than the original, and neither improves on it in any way.

Leave a Reply

