Skip to content

Civil War II?

October 5, 2007

Secessionists meeting in Tennessee – Apparently, the secessionist spirit is taking hold in more than 25 states. I can’t imagine that many have any legitimate shot of bringing their plans to fruition, but it’s an interesting situation.

The most amazing painting I have ever seen – At least in terms of realism. This is truly remarkable work. It’s still hard to believe this was painted by airbrush.

New plastic as strong as steel, transparent – Reminds me of Star Trek IV, and its transparent aluminum. Hope this pans out.

Really Slick Screensavers – I’m not huge on screensavers in general as I typically just turn off my display. However, these screensavers are enough to make me want to leave it on once in a while. I particularly like Hyperspace.

VIDEOS

I’ve been wanting a Dragonlance movie for years, and was hopeful after the success of LOTR. I was stoked to see that a movie was in the works, but less pleased to see that it was animated. The initial examples of artwork from several months ago eased my concerns a tad, but I just checked back and saw some horrible dragons. I am bitter. At any rate, here is a bit of a teaser for the film that shows some of the landscapes:

On the subject of films, I’ve also been looking forward to Wes Anderson‘s soon to be released The Darjeeling Limited. Anderson released a short film that is intended to be viewed before the film, entitled Hotel Chevalier. The most remarkable thing about the short is that Natalie Portman is nude, and that fact has generated much buzz.

To be honest, the best thing about the short was the music. I immediately liked the song, but had never heard it before. It’s called “Where Do You Go To (My Lovely)” by Peter Sarstedt. The video is quite interesting, as the singer performs it live in front of an audience seemingly unaware of what to make of it:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

