Skip to content

LINK, he marches to town

October 30, 2007

Irish company claims wave power success – Finally, the Irish have something to offer the world other than leprechauns.

Color photos from WWI – I’ve seen these several times before, but they never fail to impress or interest me.

Cardboard artwork – These are some pretty impressive cardboard contraptions.

Coat hanger gorilla – This is awesome.

The Star Trek cast photo comparisons – I’m still irked that William Shatner isn’t involved in this project.

Sci-fi original miniseries, Tin Man – This reinterpretation of The Wizard of Oz actually looks like it might be worth a watch.

Ron Paul may go from cellar dweller to Republican frontrunner – I’m not a big fan of polls, but I am becoming a big fan of what Ron Paul has to say. I think a lot of his surging “popularity” might be contrived or at least misleading, but his platform, assuming a politician actually adhered to their platform, is spot on in my book.

Cute chipmunks – Possibly the cutest animal picture ever taken.

VIDEOS

Easily the best condom commercial ever. Granted, that isn’t saying much as most condom commercials are predictably limp:

Beer companies always have the best commercials:

Noe sent me this weird video. Wait for the guy to stand up:

Noe also sent me this video. It seems like every wannabe guitar virtuoso plays a version of this song, but I think this kid’s is the best:

Dale and I always thought that video games would be a great marching band theme. We wanted to focus on Mario Bros. and Dragon Warrior. The U.C. Davis Aggie Marching Band seems to agree with us, although I think they missed out on some prime melodies and the arrangements leave something to be desired.:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2007 7:27 pm

    Fan

    *Cardboard Art…wow. Now that is some very anal work! There person must have a ton of time on their hands. Or they are a Art Major Grad student. I’m sure they sold some line of bull along with it! Impressive though!

  2. November 1, 2007 7:32 pm

    *Coat hanger gorilla…very nice. Most impressive. A great piece. Would look awesome at a zoo!
    *Ron Paul. He has a great record of voting according to his convictions. Since the candidates came out, he was my vote. i agree with most of his views. I will likely vote for him. I saw a sign up here in Chillicothe for him. Maybe I’ll put one up as well!
    *That idiot jumping into the fan was hillarious! That is a good gut buster. He must be on drugs…or just sits too long at the computer!
    *ah, the hillarious beer commercial. Boy, doesn’t the adversary do a great job of making wicked things seem so normal and appealing?! Funny though…
    *That virtuoso…WOW! That is a lot of guitar playing. Looks like he lives in a nice suburban house somewhere. Very fast and tight. Now he needs to make his own music that moves people. That’s the trick now isn’t it. But very impressive.

  3. November 2, 2007 11:25 am

    Yeah, I find that most virtuoso guitarists can’t write music worth much at all. I guess that’s the trade-off with being so immersed in technique that it removes a lot of ability to be creative.

    Yeah, the cardboard stuff serves very little purpose other than to cause you to say, “Huh, interesting.”

    I do like Ron Paul more and more. My only hold up is with his personality, or rather the combination of his personality, appearance and voice. It’s a fairly shallow criticism, but a recent study indicates that the more attractive candidates usually win. Which is to say that our society is stupid and shouldn’t be voting.

Leave a Reply

