Skip to content

My Top 10 Movies of 2007

December 17, 2007

Just to clarify, this is my list of my top 10 favorite films of 2007. That doesn’t necessarily mean I think they are the best 10 films of the year, but that I like these 10 more than the others.

10. The Bourne Ultimatum – PG-13

Matt Damon!

I’ve rather enjoyed the Bourne series. Not only is the action nearly non-stop, the casts, and particularly Matt Damon, have been rock solid. Ultimatum literally picks up right where Supremacy ended. There is no time gap to speak of, and Ultimatum follows an even more hectic pace than Supremacy. The only potential fault of this action powerhouse (aside from the shaky cam which gives some people headaches) is the almost anticlimactic ending as Bourne’s past becomes more clear. It’s hard not to experience some disappointment by movie’s end when the action is balls to the wall from the first pitch though.

09. Smokin’ Aces – R

Yowzers.

Smokin’ Aces certainly isn’t going to win an Oscar for best picture, but the interweaving characters are still a lot of fun. Who cares that the plot is lacking when Alicia Keys is running around hot as ever as her partner in crime is blowing people away with a .50 caliber rifle? It doesn’t hurt that Affleck, Piven, Bateman, and the like keep the gruesome action lite with some truly funny moments. Aces is the prototypical popcorn flick.

08. Bridge to Terabithia – PG

Not really as fantastical as the commercials showed.

There are a couple of films on my top 10 that I feel were completely misrepresented by their ad campaign, and especially so in this case. As I said in my review, this movie was surprisingly powerful, and while it focuses on a younger audience it’s of sufficient quality to keep the adults from gouging out their eyes.

07. Knocked Up – R

Way to go Seth.

Knocked Up is yet another of Judd Apatow‘s comedy goldmines. I’m sure there were a lot of people that doubted Seth Rogen could be a leading man, even in a comedic film, but Knocked Up puts those fears to rest. As in all Apatow films, I enjoy looking for Freaks and Geeks and Undeclared cast members, and there are plenty in this one. Granted, the female characters come off as shallow and irrational, but the movie still manages to pack some meaningful content and the most disgustingly funny birthing scene ever filmed.

06. Transformers – PG-13

She looked hotter in the movie than she really is.

Transformers was almost guaranteed to tickle my fancy as it’s based on one of my favorite shows/toys as a child, and features one of my favorite actors in Shia LaBeouf. I’ve loved LaBeouf ever since his guest spot on Freaks and Geeks (Are you sensing a theme, here?), and his awesome work in Even Stevens. Despite this, anything directed by Michael Bay automatically raises suspicion, but Transformers was a nearly perfect action film. The only complaint I have is with the Jar-Jar Binks clone that irritates throughout the film. Of all the things to borrow from Star Wars, Jar-Jar Binks ranks rock bottom. I would also have liked it better if Starscream‘s voice mirrored the TV show more, but as that voice actor passed away, I can see why they didn’t.

05. Reign Over Me – R

Sandler's character had a sweet home theater.

I was loathe to watch this film, because I thought it was going to be a 9-11 borefest, but I was greatly pleased to see they only mentioned the attacks as an explanation of a character’s past. They don’t go on and on about “heroes” and how horrible NYC had it that day, and I’m extremely glad they didn’t. Instead, the film concentrates on dealing with the loss and grief in more general terms. While I’m still not completely convinced that Sandler can handle a dramatic lead without a strong supporting cast, many of those fears were allayed with his performance. Don Cheadle was as awesome as always, and the rest of the cast (Liv Tyler, Jada Pinkett Smith, and Donald Sutherland to name a few) were strong with the relatively small parts they had. Add an engaging story, and a good soundtrack to that mix, and you have yourself a pretty good movie.

04. Hot Fuzz – R

Good, violent fun.

Spaced is perhaps my favorite British comedy show of all time, and I love to see Simon Pegg and crew work together. I would rank Shaun of the Dead in my top 10 comedies list, and was really looking forward to Hot Fuzz as a result. Like Shaun, Hot Fuzz is an homage to a genre, in this case buddy cop films, and like Shaun, it’s possible that this homage has become the finest example the genre has to offer.

03. 3:10 to Yuma – R

He lost like 50 pounds for this part.

Yuma was one of those films that I wanted to see right away after seeing the trailer. Christian Bale has catapulted himself into the handful of actors whose films I will watch simply because they are in it, and he definitely reinforces such faith in his work with Yuma. The rest of the cast is strong too with good performances from Russell Crowe, Ben Foster, Peter Fonda, Alan Tudyk, Logan Lerman, and Luke Wilson. It’s just good to see a strong western made every few years, and Yuma keeps up that tradition nicely.

02. Stardust – PG-13

The brothers were my favorite part.

I’ve seen Stardust twice in the past couple of weeks, and I could stand to watch it again. As my recent review indicated, this film was horribly misrepresented in the ad campaign. The only thing the ads offered was the news that Ricky Gervais was in the film. I ended up watching the movie for that reason, and I’m really glad I did. Gervais’ part was small, but quite funny as expected. However, it was the rest of the cast that helped make this a good movie. Stardust is chocked full of talent, and the story is a good enough to keep the fun structured.

01. Superbad – R

I have a McLovin theme right now.

Apatow, Rogen, and crew strike again! I guess I need to do a more in depth review of this film, but suffice it to say it’s easily the funniest of the year. It’s high school aged hijinks at its best, and without the cliched nude scenes found in most teenager comedies. That isn’t to say that Superbad is squeaky clean like Freaks and Geeks, although many of the actors were in both. It almost seems like the first 15 minutes or so was an attempt to be as vulgar as possible in order to weed out the weak in the crowd. After that, the film takes off, and has a flashback sequence that is one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen. 2007 was a pretty good year for comedy.

HONORABLE MENTION: The Lookout, Disturbia, The Wendell Baker Story, Live Free or Die Hard, and Hot Rod.

NOTES: There were several films from 2007 that I’ve yet to see, but had potential to crack my top 10. These films include: The Darjeeling Unlimited, No Country For Old Men, Electric Apricot, Juno, National Treasure: The Book of Secrets, and Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2007 6:10 pm

    Have you seen I Am Legend? What about August Rush? I really liked August Rush. I haven’t watched Stardust, but it’s on my list. I too liked Transformers. But 6 out of your 10 were rated R, so I didn’t watch them :)

  2. Webby permalink
    December 17, 2007 9:41 pm

    I really want to watch #8,7,6,5,4, and most definitely your #1 pick. I saw commercials for Superbad. I saw those three guys (in the picture) on Jay Leno I think it was. They were hilarious!

  3. Webby permalink
    December 17, 2007 9:44 pm

    BTW, I realized while watching The Bourne Ultimatum that the guy at the end who was telling Jason Bourne (about why he became Jason) was the same guy who played Daddy Warbucks(sp) in the Annie.

  4. December 17, 2007 9:55 pm

    @Bethany, yeah, I noticed as I was making that list that the majority were rated R. Oh well. I have not seen I Am Legend, but I want to see that one. The trailers for August Rush didn’t appeal to me at all though, and I doubt I will ever watch it.

    @Webby, the main characters in Superbad are awesome, and I saw that Leno too I think. I didn’t realize he was Daddy Warbucks. I’ve seen him in a lot of things, and have never pieced that together. I guess it’s because I haven’t seen Annie in well over 10 years.

  5. Webby permalink
    December 17, 2007 9:58 pm

    I realized it was him because of the way he spoke…he has a strange way of speaking.

  6. December 18, 2007 9:04 am

    The first trailer I saw for August Rush looked really lame, and I didn’t watch it for quite a while, but I saw another preview for it on some other movie that looked more promising, and decided to give it a try. It was fabulous! I even made Brent watch part of it with me, and he really liked it too. The way they used music in the film as amazing. Anyway, if you get bored, give it a try. It was great :)

  7. December 18, 2007 3:14 pm

    All right. If I ever see it around I might give it a whirl.

Leave a Reply

