Skip to content

Thomas Paine was right

January 29, 2008

I think there should be a new political party called the Common Sense party. Like Paine said, “A long habit of not thinking a thing wrong, gives it a superficial appearance of being right, and raises at first a formidable outcry in defense of custom.” Now we are stuck with two political parties that are essentially the same, and yet no one will vote for anyone that thinks outside of the accepted norm because they are “unelectable.”

This speech on the floor of the Congress shows that Ron Paul is fed up with it, but I guess the vast majority of Americans aren’t despite their comments to the contrary. Perhaps my favorite line is “Let it not be said that no one cared, that no one objected once it’s realized that our liberties and wealth are in jeopardy.” Unfortunately, those that say they support the Constitution are not willing to vote for the only candidate that focuses on its strict adherence.  Contrary to what President Bush said recently, the state of the Union is not strong.

Here are a couple of videos in conjunction with my political rant.

This one describes Paul’s economic policies to some extent:

This is from a radio show during which Romney talks the host into voting for Ron Paul:

OK, now for some general purpose linkage.

Farmer unveils the illegal castle he tried to hide behind a bunch of hay – All right, it’s not Buckingham Palace, but it’s not that bad.  Let the guy keep his house.  Man, I hate governments getting up in everyone’s business.

Matheny will have a spring fling with the Cardinals – I love Mike Matheny.  The guy was the perfect Cardinal player, and I hope he does get into the system via coaching and managing.

IZArc – I’ve been looking for an archival that handled just about every extension and was free.  Thanks to Patrick Norton, I think I found it.  I’ve been using it for a while, and am pleased so far.

Burnaware – This is a free CD/DVD burning package.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I plan to.

10 Great quotes from Stephen Hawking – I assume these are really his, but I haven’t verified that.  Either way, they are pretty good.

10 stunning ultra-geeky home theaters –  I would have used the money spent on decorations for better hardware, but some of these are pretty cool.

Van Halen’s “Running with the Devil” vocals isolated – There is a link to download an mp3 of the isolated vocals, and it’s worth the listen.  It’s pretty funny hearing DLR scream away like a madman.

VIDEOS

Either this cop is completely oblivious, or he has balls of steel.  Either way, he is quite lucky:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

