Skip to content

Star Wars Cosplay Review (Mostly)

March 12, 2008

Normally, I complain about cosplayers who are morbidly obese wearing costumes that should be left for the attractive people. Unfortunately, there aren’t that many attractive cosplayers. Sometimes, there are skinny people who still shouldn’t be wearing certain costumes. Behold the skinny slave Leia:

Posture would help.

She isn’t terribly ugly, she certainly isn’t fat, but she still has no business wearing that outfit. Maybe one of Amidala’s handmaidens would have been more suitable. The boldness of these people amazes me to no ends.

Next we have Darth Vader. It’s almost impossible to screw up Darth Vader unless you use really crappy costuming. This guy has a nice, solid costume.  I am sure he is an ubergeek, but we can’t tell. Well, except for the fact that he’s wearing a Darth Vader costume.

null

Then I found this guy, who did an awesome job with the unmasked Vader/Anakin:

Awesome idea.

Pretty styling. The makeup could have been a tad better, but strong overall.  The wanker of a Jedi standing next to him is another matter altogether. Let’s just say that I’m not surprised to see that his saber is pink.

After seeing that picture I wondered if it was even possible to screw up Vader. Because let’s face it, this pudgy little guy still looks awesome:

A better mask would be nice.

All right, so his mask is pathetic and his suit is pretty dodgy, but he is little. His resources are limited. This kid is my hero.  He doesn’t even need the stinking mask.  That’s how cool this guy is.  Besides, I was thinking it would be funny if some big, fat guy like me dressed up as Vader. Have really awesome kit, but just be big and fat. Cause let’s face it, if I had The Force, I would be abusing it to no end.

I would be the size of Jabba the Hutt, but could kill you with my mind, chop you up with my floating saber, force grip you over to a skillet, fry you up, and gorge myself on your flesh. Disgusting? Yes, but worth it because we all know that every living thing has midi-chlorians. The more I could get in my system, the stronger I would be in the force, and the stinkier my stool. Why more Jedi’s don’t engage in cannibalism is beyond me. German Jedis would be unstoppable.

A midget Vader would be super funny too, as this little guy helps to illustrate.  A 7 foot tall Yoda would be a bold move too.

Finally, we travel to the Star Trek universe in order to see this sorry excuse for a Klingon:

Makeup?

Sadly, it’s one of the best Klingons I’ve ever seen by a cosplayer. What we can see of his outfit looks good, and the hair and face prosthetics look pretty decent. Why not finish the job up with a little bit of makeup? Why go to all that trouble and expense just to make it look like someone pooped on your head? Why not grow a full goatee instead of that gay looking stache? Somehow the poop and the stache seem linked. Maybe this is a German Klingon?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Webby permalink
    March 13, 2008 3:40 pm

    wow…that’s all very pathetic imo. As for the old vader…that just looks like a mask to me. Do you see the eyes? Yah, mask.

  2. March 13, 2008 5:37 pm

    Yeah, it’s a mask, but still not bad. A bit of extra makeup work would help it not look as mask-like. How is the standard Vader pathetic? That chubby kid is legendary.

  3. Webby permalink
    March 14, 2008 5:55 pm

    The first picture of Vader is good. I agree. The first picture of Leia is sad. The chubby kid is sad in that he is a chubby kid. And the Klingon looks like Charlie Chaplin in Klingon gear.

  4. March 14, 2008 6:06 pm

    Yeah, the Leia and Klingon are pathetic. I like the chubby Vader. He seems happy, and he puts a smile on my face. Stinks that he’s fat though. For his sake.

  5. Brent permalink
    March 14, 2008 8:43 pm

    Yeah, the kid with the big smile is awesome. He’s pumped to be there. And, he’s a kid. Unlike the loser adults who are there. Who are freaks. The sad thing about the Leia is that’s exactly what the actor looked like. She had no business wearing that outfit either. Gross! Granted, this girls face was not as attractive as Carrie Fisher, but the body is exactly the same. At any rate, it is cool to be a fan, but trying to dress up like the actors, just doesn’t appeal to me. You may think that Reenacting is similar, but a key difference is that I”m not a fan, I do it for historical purposes. To some, that seems minor, but it is quite different, in my view.

  6. March 14, 2008 9:37 pm

    Exactly, he’s just a kid having fun.

    As for Leia… hehe, I made a new post to address the issue.

  7. Dave the Klingon permalink
    February 22, 2016 3:13 am

    Hey Lister let’s see your cos-play costume; you seem to have fun ridiculing those of us who actually have the cajones to step out there and have fun in costume,so let us see what you have to offer! I for one find the idea of having a blast at a convention in costume -what is that word -oh yes FUN. At least the folks you have shown here drew enough of your interest to put us on your site;so we must be something right. As to my lack of make-up as the Charlie Chaplin Klingon ( a new one by the way) a compliment I believe you did not intend; considering Mr. Chaplin’s legendary status, is it the lack of the dirty brown face or hi-lightes on the head-piece which bother you. I usually get called the Gallagher Klingon, so the charlie Chaplin one is an improvement in comedian for me.The picture you have posted which I have seen elsewhere by the way is a full flash photo which has bleached out the makeup and hi-lghited head-piece. So lets see your costumes, and let the Cos-play folks of thw whole frakking world judge you. Dave the Klingon

    • February 22, 2016 2:12 pm

      Dave, thanks for the post.

      Sadly, I cannot take credit for the Charlie Chaplin comment. Someone else suggested that moniker.

      As a fan, I can somewhat understand cosplay. I might be tempted to do likewise, but I’d do so within the realms of decency and respectability. I’d want to be able to walk around outside the convention and not rightly be considered a complete tool. I do have fun ridiculing the less savory cosplayers. Cosplayers, by virtue of the process, draw attention and therefore invite ridicule.

      So, no, I won’t post pictures of my cosplay efforts because I’ve none to post. The day I do, I will metaphorically eat crow. I find the prospect of that day to be extremely unlikely.

      Dave, I applauded your costuming and prosthetics. It’s the lack of blending via makeup that was my issue with your portrayal. The facial hair was a minor issue. At any rate, thanks for not getting your panties in too big a bunch. Qapla’!

      • Anonymous permalink
        February 22, 2016 11:15 pm

        well said Lister, as I stated the blending was there but the guy with the camera nailed me with a flash that left me wondering if a train was headed my way. I still like the Chaplin reference but Charlie wore a fake stache as the Tramp that Hitler later made infamous. I never intended to costume up anyway however I get to be a bodyguard for some really nice Sci-Fi and fantasy stars and that makes up the difference as does the weird effect the leather has on way to many females at the Cons !

Leave a Reply

