Skip to content

Manic Street Preacher’s M*A*S*H cover

May 28, 2008

Someone informed me of this cover the other day, and I have to say that I really like it the more I listen to it.  The arrangement is pretty darn solid.  The flag is displayed improperly in the video, but since most Americans don’t get it right either, I can hardly hold it against these Welsh.  It’s also quite probable that they were making some political statement, but who cares.  The song is catchy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Randolph's Shorty permalink
    May 28, 2008 3:37 pm

    I actually already had this. Yes, they’re insane and Welsh and psycho commies and all that, but they’re still pretty often pretty artful about it. That I can appreciate.

  2. May 28, 2008 4:17 pm

    You had this, huh? I thought you had some of their stuff. I need to snag it from ya.

  3. Brent permalink
    May 28, 2008 7:51 pm

    Yea, that was nice. I was waiting for the song to really kick in. I was anticipating it a bit earlier in the song, but I think it was laid out well as performed. yea, displaying the Flag is almost counter intuitive if one doesn’t understand why the field goes to the other side. I’m sure it was accidental.

    Other than singing like a girl, it was a nice song! Well, he really has a cool voice…I was just joking. Reminds me of a more talented, sober Layne Staley from Alice in Chains.

  4. May 28, 2008 11:19 pm

    Yeah, exactly. We were discussing that earlier today. I can totally see how people wouldn’t like his voice (as it could easily verge on the whiny), but as a whole, I think he has a pretty good rock voice.

Leave a Reply

