Skip to content

Fiona Apple

August 5, 2008

When Fiona Apple first made it big, I hated her.  She was on MTV 24/7, and it just bugged the crap out of me that she was so huge.  So, I vowed not to listen to her lest I might accidentally like her.

Meanwhile, Joshua really liked her.  We ended up using the same computer for a stretch, and I ripped all of our CDs on to the drive so that we could listen to our music while we used the computer.  I ended up hearing a lot of her tracks that didn’t get the same rotation as stuff like “Criminal,” and I soon started liking her.

Adrienne sent me this video of Fiona Apple playing the keyboard at age 6, the piano at 8, and finally a more recent clip.  Kind of interesting.

After watching that video, I ended up spending the next several minutes watching some interviews she did.  The first two are an interview she did on Howard Stern not long after her first album, Tidal, came out.  It is NSFW due to language, it is Howard Stern after all, but I found out that she used to date David Blaine.  Not that that’s a huge deal, but an interesting tidbit.

This next interview (also in two parts) is obviously after the release of her newest album, Extraordinary Machine.  I need to analyze both versions of the album.  Since the official release came out, I stopped listening to the old one.  I also signed up for that petition they mention in the video before the album was finally released.  By the way, this interviewer stinks.

Finally, here are some “unplugged” performances.  I particularly like “Paper Bag” as it’s one of my favorite Fiona Apple songs.  Also, here is the video version of the song.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Webby permalink
    August 5, 2008 10:17 pm

    That was an interesting interview with Howard Stern…what a sleaze. Not that I expected anything less. But the last two embedded vidz aren’t working.

  2. August 5, 2008 10:23 pm

    Yeah, he is.

    Weak sauce. I will add direct links. I hate when they don’t allow embedding. So silly.

Leave a Reply

