Skip to content

Bruce Dickinson interviews Metallica

September 21, 2008

I rather enjoyed these interviews.  I think it adds something to the mix when the interviewer is an accomplished performer too.  I would LOVE to see a round of interviews conducted by Dave Mustaine and then another set by Jason Newsted.  How awesome would that be?

For the record, as a Metallica fan AND as a film fan, I loved Some Kind of Monster.  Having closely followed the band for several years, during that stretch in particular, I knew going in that the band was still together, but seeing how tenuous the situation really was was quite the eye-opener.  I think the film clearly stands alone if you don’t know Metallica from Duran Duran, and gives the avid fan that much stronger a connection with the guys.

I guess I never had those kind of unreal expectations of their personalities that seeing them being argumentative, vulnerable, and at times just plain bastards, phased me negatively.  I’ve always embraced the fact that the Metallica face is covered in warts, because without those ups and downs the music wouldn’t be nearly as powerful.  I see no legitimate point in trying to present a facade with a band of Metallica’s caliber and experience, and as such, I don’t understand the criticism of SKOM.

I think that attitude is a driving force behind my love of Metallica.  They do what they want to do, and let the chips fall where they may.  That’s not being selfish.  It’s being rational, reasonable, and honest.  How can you possibly love anyone, but especially a creative entity, who only shows you what they think you want to see or hear?  That kind of betrayal is sickening, but even more disgusting is those that want to be deceived in such a way.

OK, I’m off my soapbox now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Saqib permalink
    September 22, 2008 4:09 pm

    “I would LOVE to see a round of interviews conducted by Dave Mustaine and then another set by Jason Newsted. How awesome would that be?”

    Less awesome than Bruce.

  2. September 22, 2008 5:31 pm

    I’d beg to differ given the context.

  3. Brent permalink
    October 12, 2008 12:18 pm

    Fan, I loved the clips…very interesting. I especially enjoyed James’s comments…well, he is the man. But I agree about SKOM. I rater enjoyed it. It was shocking to watch, but very real, and really endeared me that much more to the band…to see real people, dealing with real everyday problems that everyone else has to deal with…

    Really they likely have a much greater pressure than most of us will ever experience. That is huge pressure, big money, the music industry, fluxing as it is in the digital age, etc. Anyway, anyone Metallica fan who didn’t like it…well, they must not be a true Metallica fan!

    Great clips…and Bruce did an excellent job interviewing. Oh, was Rubin not liked by the guys? Did I read too far between the lines?

  4. Brent permalink
    October 12, 2008 12:18 pm

    Yep, I think Dave and Jason interviews could get real ugly. Now, seeing their joint therapy session with the guys, that would be interesting, but I think intensely private as well.

  5. October 12, 2008 1:36 pm

    Hey, so you have access to the net now?

    I think they were all pleased with the way Rubin handled the production. The way they seem to describe it is that he basically stayed out of their way, and then would come in and act as a critic to some extent. If he thought something was lacking, or needed some tweaking, he would let them know.

Leave a Reply

