Skip to content

*SHOCK* Johnny Depp looks quirky in his new film

November 18, 2008

Johnny Depp is the Kevin Costner of the Tim Burton side of the filmmaking spectrum.

Just about every one of his “transformational” roles equates to pasty skin, loads of eye liner, and crazy hair.  So, it should come as no surprise that he fits that bill perfectly in the new Tim Burton adaptation of Alice in Wonderland.  Behold the “unrecognizable” Johnny Depp as the Fag Hatter, er, I mean Mad Hatter:

Overrated much?

Overrated much?

At least the Daily Mail thinks so.  This role is obviously so different than the other ones he’s done that were “quirky,” “ghostly,” and “bohemian.”  Oh yeah, and Helena Bonham Carter will be in this suckfest too.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Webby permalink
    November 18, 2008 10:56 pm

    OH JOY! I can’t wait for Alice In Wonderland Tim Burton style. I’ve wanted to see a live action version that looks more like that creepy computer game. I can’t think of the name but it was cool. And you know I love AIW. At first I’ll admit that I liked the idea of Johnny playing the MH. But, you have convinced me of his same role different movie deal. Now, I have seen Jim Carrey play different roles. I would find it to be really great if Jim were to play…the Cheshire Cat or the March Hare. What do you think? OH! And if Tim Curry would be willing to wear make-up again or at least be the voice and have someone else act out the part of one of the characters. That would be cool too. Tim Curry has a fantastic “mad” voice. :D

  2. Webby permalink
    November 18, 2008 11:06 pm

    Oooh, I should have read the real cast first. Lucian is playing the Cheshire Cat. How delightful. :D Alan Rickman, Christopher Lee, and Crispin Glover are also in the cast. Oh yes, I will like this movie. I just know it. hehe And I’m so very glad that Dakota Fanning is NOT playing Alice. That girl is in every other movie. There is something about her that annoys me and it could just be the fact that she is popular. I just don’t know.

  3. November 19, 2008 8:02 am

    The game was American McGee’s Alice, and I like the demented take on the story too. I knew you’d want to see this either way, and don’t tell Molly, but I would have wanted to see this IF Depp wasn’t connected. This is actually the kind of adaptation Burton can handle, because that’s pretty much all he does.

    At any rate, according to IMDB your casting for the Cheshire Cat is incorrect (although another HP alum is in the movie via Fraces de La Tour), but in addition to the others you listed, I also wanted to see Matt Lucas and David Walliams from Little Britain as Tweedledum and Tweedledee. IMDB only lists Lucas as both parts, which should also be cool, but having them both would be more fun. I can’t remember where I read that Walliams was also attached.

    I might have to break down and watch this one regardless of the fact that all three of the stars of doom are aligned. Which, as we all know, signifies copious amounts of excrement will be flung on the screen.

  4. Webby permalink
    November 19, 2008 12:15 pm

    Ah yes, that game! I didn’t get to play it. I only saw Dale play some of it. But it was wonderfully demented. hehe
    Wait, what do you mean I was incorrect about the person playing the Cheshire Cat? Lucian was his character on Underworld. I was just saying that it’ll be fun to see what he does with the character on AIW.

  5. November 19, 2008 6:46 pm

    Oh, oh, oh. Forget what I said. I was typing with little sleep. I read Lucius… not Lucien.

  6. Webby permalink
    November 19, 2008 7:06 pm

    Ah, ok.

  7. Molly permalink
    November 23, 2008 8:58 am

    YAY!!!! JOHNNY DEPP EVEN AS THE MAD HATTER WITH ALL OF THE MAKE UP ON HE’S STILL DAM SMEXY AW I CAN’T WAIT FOR TIM BURTON’S ALICE AND I CANT WAIT TO SEE HELENA BONHAM CARTER AS THE QUEEN OF HEARTS. HEY LISTER IT ME AGIN MABY SINCE SHE HAS THE FAMUSE LINE “OFF WITH THER HEADS” MABY SHE WILL SAY THAT TO YOU.

    OH YEA AND BTW JIM CARRY IS THE MOST DUM GROSS AND WORST ACTERS EVER! HE CANT ACT.

    YAY JOHNNY AND HELENA AND TIM!!!! I CAN’T WAIT YAY!!!!!!! :D

  8. Molly permalink
    November 23, 2008 9:01 am

    YEA IM HAPPY THAT DACOTA-LOSER ISENT IN THE MOVIE CUZ SHE SUX AND ALLAN RICKMAN IS SWEET! YEA IT’S LIKE ANOTHER SWEENEY TODD-CAST BECAUSE ALLEN,JOHNNY AND HELENA YAY!!! 3 OF THE BEST PEOPLE EVER! AND PLUS IT’S BYE TIM SO IT’S EVEN BETTER YAY I CAN’T WAIT :D

  9. November 23, 2008 2:36 pm

    You do realize this movie just cements my argument further? That Depp, HBC, and Burton are just one trick ponies after all.

    Maybe one day I can be FAMUSE.

  10. Webby permalink
    November 23, 2008 10:40 pm

    haha Lister, your retorts are classic. :D

  11. November 23, 2008 11:02 pm

    In all fairness, with Molly it’s like t-ball.

Leave a Reply

