Skip to content

Say it ain’t so, Tom

January 16, 2009

It seems Tom Hanks has fallen for the whole, “Mormon Church paid for Prop 8” bunk.  Then he even went so far as to call them un-American for so doing.

There are Mormons that live in California.  They contributed to funds in support of Prop 8.  Last I checked, the democratic process allows for such things.  Furthermore, the vote was put to the people of California, and the state voted.  If you don’t like the outcome, that is fine, but blaming a religious group that occupies a small percentage of the voter base is absurd.  You lost the vote.  Take the other steps afforded you in our governmental process.  That’s the way this works.

Not that he cares, but I have to say I lost a tad of respect for Hanks.  Not because I disagree with his comments, but because they were so blatantly irrational.  What could possibly be un-American about democracy in action?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2009 7:49 pm

    I believe Tom Hanks perhaps is stupid as Forest Gump

  2. January 19, 2009 8:16 pm

    I’d like to think Hanks is just misinformed by a group that seems to think tolerance only works one way. I tend to give people at least a couple of strikes before I write them off (if I already like them that is), and as far as I’m aware, this is only his first.

    At any rate, such a comment was disappointing.

Leave a Reply

