Skip to content

Identity (2003 – R)

March 8, 2009

Originally posted on October 18, 2003


“As I was going up the stair, I met a man who wasn’t there. He wasn’t there again today, I wish, I wish, he’d go away.”

Story

Identity is a movie where the story is everything, and I don’t want to spoil it. I will only say what kind of movie it is. This is a dramatic, thriller, murder mystery with intriguing plot twists, and character developments. I hate horror films. I think they are pointless. However, this film is a mystery, with elements of horror, and that makes it work really well.

Story = 20

Cast

Another fine cast with appearances by John Cusack, Ray Liotta, Amanda Peet, John Hawkes, Alfred Molina, Clea DuVall, John C. McGinley, William Lee Scott, Jake Busey, Pruitt Taylor Vince, Rebecca De Mornay, Leila Kenzle, and Holmes Osborne. None of these actors are real blockbuster stars with the exception of maybe Cusack and Liota, but that is perfect for this film. They are all skilled, and they mesh well with no one actor overbaring the others.

Cast = 20

Soundtrack/Score

The only song I remember is “All My Life” by the Foo Fighters. I like the Foo Fighters and all, but that just ain’t enough, son. The score was enough to help sustain a sense of urgency and danger throughout the film, but is nothing earth shattering or majestic.

Soundtrack/Score = 10

Quote/Catch Phrase

By now, anyone that does read these reviews, and they are few and far between, might recognize that the “Catch Phrase” category is not so much a catch phrase as it is my favorite line from the film. Here is the dilemma for this film, I don’t recall any great lines per se, but more the overall idea and intricacies of the film. So, I suppose the line will be the only line I do remember, which I think may in fact be the last line of the movie. “Whores don’t get a second chance.” Wow, actually, while writing that, I decided I genuinely like that line. Could be a song title, or a movie title for that matter. EDIT: I also remembered a couplet that is used throughout the film. How I forgot that, I don’t know, but you can see the line right under the title of this movie at the top of the review.

Quote/Catch Phrase =  20

Rewatchability

I liked this movie. I thought it was pretty good while I was watching, but thought it was predictable, as I was certain that I had the “killer” identified (pun intended). I was more than a little shocked as the story developed, and for a while, a little irritated, as I thought they might try to pin it all on some supernatural force driving them together. I was relieved, and entertained to find out the real cause of the situation, and I liked the “happy ending” of the official release. It appears that the DVD also contains 93 minutes of bonus material and an alternate ending. I will have to look into that. If you like thrillers, mysteries, and an involved story line, then this movie is right up your alley.

Rewatchability =  16

I watched this late at night, and it added to the overall impact of the film. I highly recommend doing likewise.

Total Score = 86

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

