Skip to content

High Anxiety (1977 – PG)

April 1, 2009

Originally posted on December 2, 2003

Story

High Anxiety is the tale of a psychiatrist who is beginning a new position as head of an institute for the nervous, and soon becomes entangled in a murder in which he is the primary suspect.  A Hitchcock spoof and homage rolled into one.

Story = 16

Cast

Mel Brooks, Madeline Kahn, Cloris Leachman, Harvey Korman, Dick Van Patten, and Barry Levinson.  Talk about a classic cast.  Madeline Kahn was fantastic in everything I have seen her in.  It still irritates me that she died of cancer so young.

Cast = 20

Soundtrack/Score

Original Mel Brooks compositions and performances.  That probably doesn’t help the score, but then again, when I watch the movie I find myself singing the song in my head for a few days afterwards.

Soundtrack/Score = 14

Quote/Catch Phrase

My favorite line hands down, is Barry Levinson’s hotel employee screaming “Here’s you paper!  Happy now!?!” after spoofing the famous Psycho shower scene.

Quote/Catch Phrase = 20

Rewatchability

It’s Mel Brooks, but then again, it’s not his best work.  It’s a good one to watch if you haven’t seen it yet, but if you have other Brooks films at your disposal then I would watch them instead.

Rewatchability = 12

Total Score = 82

Sounds about right, but perhaps even a little lower.  Don’t get me wrong, I like the film, but I also like other Brooks films a whole lot more.  You should watch it once at least.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

