Skip to content

Big Daddy (1999 – PG-13)

April 7, 2009

Originally posted on December 11, 2003


Story

In Big Daddy, an underachieving, albeit good-natured, man poses as his best friend, and assumes custody of a young child.  Eventually he is discovered in his deception, but not before he gains a greater understanding and a greater capacity for love.  Still unrealistic, he would have gone to jail, but also quite funny and endearing.

Story = 20

Cast

Adam Sandler, Joey Lauren Adams, Jon Stewart, Josh Mostel, Leslie Mann, Allen Covert, Rob Schneider, Kristy Swanson, Joseph Bologna, Steve Buscemi, Tim Herlihy, Jonathan Loughran, and Peter Dante.  I am not exactly a big fan of Stewart’s, but I really dig Leslie Mann, so that evens out.  The little kids that played the boy weren’t great, but they were pretty good for being that young.  They were certainly better than Jake Lloyd was in Star Wars: Episode I.

Cast = 20

(EDIT from 2009 –  I retract my harshness in regards to Lloyd.  Upon further consideration, I blame Lucas for not utilizing a better writer and a better director for the film.  He should have done the story, and produced like he did for Empire and Return of the Jedi.  I’m not saying Jake Lloyd should get an Oscar, but the poor guy had enough people ripping on him.)

Soundtrack/Score

An interesting cover of “Sweet Child of Mine,” by Sheryl Crow, and another good cover by Everlast of a Neil Young son.  Good soundtrack selection, but probably not the best ever.

Soundtrack/Score = 16

Quote/Catch Phrase

Another great movie for good lines.  At one time, I had decided to make a wav file site, and this is one of the few movies I got around to doing. Check out the site here: http://www.geocities.com/wav_world/ , and you can download some of these great lines: “You’re going down sucker.”  “We wasted the good surprise on you.”  “It smells like urine in this joint, good job.”  “Ow! Scuba Steve, d*** you!”  “Well, this is during the so-called disco era, but for me it was more of the doing mushrooms era.”  “Hi, what’s your name, he’ll write it on the wall. Mind your business.”  “Hey, old man river, zip it or I’ll break your hip.”  “I know you’re gonna be missing me when you got that big, white, wrinkly body on top of you with his loose skin and old balls… gross, ugh.”  “Layla, if you don’t come over to Sonny’s apartment tonight there is a good chance that I’ll develop a stutter… pu pu pu please don’t do this to me.”  “Did she say I was doing laundry with her, cause where I come from it’s called doing the hibbidy-dibbidy.”  “That’s right you drink the booze you loose, remember that punk.” — I actually quoted that one today.  “Fish, Pony, Hip… hip hop… hip hop anonymous? D*** you!  You gave him the easy ones!”  “You like that?  I’m right here miss, what’re you gonna do about it?  Haha.”  “Yes, considering we’re in America.  I mean if you don’t like spaghetti and meatballs, why don’t you get the hell out?”  “Hey, listen.  I’ll come down there and give you a crew cut mister.”  Great lines from a good movie.

Quote/Catch Phrase = 20

(EDIT from 2009 – Yeah, that site is dead.)

Rewatchability

Other than perhaps Wedding Singer, I think this is Sandler’s most touching and poignant comedy.

Rewatchability = 18

Total Score = 94

One Comment leave one →
  1. Webby permalink
    April 7, 2009 1:21 pm

    haha I like how you say it’s one of Adam Sandler’s most touching comedies and the video still reads Live Nudes. hehe K, well I thought it was funny.

Leave a Reply

