Skip to content

Bad Santa (2003 – R)

April 13, 2009

Originally posted on December 18, 2003

Story

In Bad Santa, a drunken man and his diminutive friend secure jobs at malls as Santa and an elf.  Once there, they develop a plan to rob the mall Christmas Eve.  They do this for several years, and eventually the Santa begins to rethink his life.  Similar to many movies in that a bad guy rethinks his situation, but this movie is certainly unique.

Story = 16

Cast

Billy Bob Thornton, Tony Cox, Brett Kelly, Lauren Graham, Lauren Tom, Bernie Mac, and the late John Ritter.  It almost pains me to say that I am really starting to like Billy Bob Thornton.  I am not sure why… on either count.  Brett Kelly, the kid, really adds a lot to this film.  I personally think that any movie with a midget (yeah I know that term is offensive, but so am I) has a head up on other movies.  Not literally of course.  Midgets just rock.  This is Ritter’s last movie.  I was never a huge fan, but I always found him entertaining.  He was quite funny in this role.

Cast = 20

Soundtrack/Score

Another soundtrack filled with Christmas songs.  Can’t go wrong there.  Plus, The Mormon Tabernacle Choir is used in the soundtrack.  Haha.  The Mormon Tabernacle Choir is used in a Rated R movie.  Talk about ironic.  I would like to see a movie use nothing but Christmas music, yet have nothing to do with Christmas or winter.  That would be interesting.

Soundtrack/Score = 20

Quote/Catch Phrase

Ah, man.  I know there were a couple of really funny lines, but I am really drowsy right now, and can’t think of one.  Haha, one of my favorite parts though is when Santa beats up like a 14 year old kid.  Great stuff.  Unfortunately, no line, no good score.

Quote/Catch Phrase = 02

Rewatchability

This is certainly a fairly dark movie.  I think you can draw some philosophical or religious themes out too.  It had some great comedic moments, some interesting plot developments, and overall was a pretty interesting movie.  It is rated R for good reason.  Incessant cursing and some violence don’t bother me quite as much as the sexual content.  Although some of the references to this sexual content are quite funny.  That’s when John Ritter gets involved more.  Not a Christmas classic, but if you like dark movies, then go ahead and give this one a whirl.

Rewatchability = 16

Total Score = 74

The insanely low score of the catch phrase is really dragging this movie down a tad too much.  I would prolly put it in the high 80s or low 90s if I could just remember a bloody phrase.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

