Skip to content

Dumb & Dumber (1994 – PG-13)

April 20, 2009

Originally posted on December 30, 2003

Story

In Dumb & Dumber, two pathetic friends set out on a cross country adventure just to return a suitcase they thought was mistakenly left behind by an attractive acquaintance.  It turns out the suitcase contained money for a ransom, and the boys become entangled in the mess that ensues.

Story = 16

Cast

Jim Carrey, Jeff Daniels, Lauren Holly, Mike Starr, Karen Duffy, Victoria Rowell, Teri Garr, Harland Williams, Cam Neely, Charles Rocket, and Fred Stoller.  I had no idea Cam Neely was Sea Bass.  I didn’t even think about it.  That is awesome.  I love Carrey.  He is one of my favorite actors right now, but in fairness, I think Jeff Daniels is the one that really makes the movie what it is.

Cast = 20

Soundtrack/Score

“Boom Shak-A-Lak” from Apache Indian, and some Crash Test Dummies.  Beyond that, there isn’t really that much.

Soundtrack/Score = 10

Quote/Catch Phrase

I was always partial to the scene in which Daniels’ leg catches fire, and he yells, “Just give me the number!”  Plus, “Yeah, this is the rockies.”  “Tell her about my rapist wit,” and my favorite, “Kick his ass Sea Bass!”

“Yeah I called her up, she gave me a bunch of crap about me not listening to her enough or something.  I don’t know I really wasn’t paying attention.”  “I expected the Rocky mountains to be a little rockier than this.”  “Yeah, I was thinking the same thing.  That John Denver is full of shit, man.”  “We’re really doing it though aren’t we, buddy?”  “Man, you are one pathetic loser.”  “Hey, I guess they’re right.  Senior citizens, although slow and dangerous behind the wheel, can still serve a purpose.  Now don’t you go dying on me!”

Quote/Catch Phrase = 20

Rewatchability

A Jim Carrey movie, and oft considered one of his funniest ones.  Again, I really think that the Jeff Daniels plays a major part in this movie being a good one.  We all know Carrey is funny, but the Carrey/Daniels combination is really funny.

Rewatchability = 20

(EDIT from 2009 – That paragraph was painful to read.)

Total Score = 86

This film is full of laughs.  If you have been living under a rock, and haven’t yet seen it, then you better check it out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

