Skip to content

Torchwood is finally getting good

July 8, 2009

I’ve loved Doctor Who since I was about 5 or 6, and I’ve watched any spin-off I could get a copy of.  Most have been miserable.  When Torchwood was announced, I had high expectations given the quality of the Doctor Who revamp, and my fondness for the Captain Jack Harkness character played by John Barrowman.

Unfortunately, the show has been a mess.  There were moments of near-brilliance, but mostly it was hampered by sexual situations that seemed to be inserted for cheap thrills over and over again.  Innuendo certainly intended.

This year’s Children of Earth mini-series has thus far bucked that trend, and I can’t help but think a large part is due to the less divided attention of creator Russell T. Davies.  Sure, there have been some references to intimacy in the mini-series, but they were handled in a more refined way than the previous two series tended to deal with the subject.  Instead, the story is the focus.  Shocking isn’t it?  And what a story it has been.  I’m just glad that I need only wait another day for the next episode to air.  Sadly, the series is comprised of only five episodes, but if that means higher quality, so be it. 

Here’s to hoping the series ends as well as it has begun, and that Davies continues to take a more direct handling of the show’s writing in subsequent series.  Now, if only I had a TARDIS so that I could skip forward several months for new Doctor Who.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2009 6:59 pm

    Yep, I have to agree! I’ve seen the first 2 1/2 episodes, and they’re SO good! Not over the top nasty like the first season. I LOVE the writer for this season – AWESOME!

  2. July 12, 2009 10:28 pm

    Well, Russell T. Davies wrote 3 of the 5 episodes. I can’t recall who wrote the other two, but Davies wrote many of the new Doctor Who episodes too as he brought the show back. I definitely like his stuff. Unfortunately, most of the previous Torchwood episodes weren’t done by him (he’d only do a couple or so a series).

  3. Brent permalink
    July 21, 2009 1:20 pm

    Well, that sounds like good news. I’ll have to watch it here soon.

Leave a Reply

