Skip to content

My Top 10 Movies of 2010

December 31, 2010

10. The Other Guys – PG-13

This one has the benefit of a fresh watch behind it.  I did really enjoy it, but I think it would easily be knocked off the list given a few of the films I have yet to see, and probably would be if I watched Cop Out again.  While Cop Out was an homage to 80s buddy cop films, The Other Guys was a spoof, and it delivered with strong perf0rmances from Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg.  The rest of the cast is good too with the likes of Michael Keaton, Steve Coogan, Rob Riggle, Dwayne Johnson, Derek Jeter, Samuel L. Jackson, and Eva Mendes.  Eva Mendes.  Eva Mendes.  No, that isn’t a typo.  I just felt like writing her name three times. She’s that awesomely hot.

09. Hot Tub Time Machine – R

This isn’t the best comedy ever made by any stretch, but it has several things working in its favor.  First, they travel back in time to the magical 1980s.  I loved the 80s way before that show came out.  Sure, it was often cheesy, and the fashion was almost always hideous, but the music and the movies are made from pure awesome.  This movie tapped into some residual gnarliness by using John Cusack as a conduit.  The rest of the cast is pretty solid too with Craig Robinson, Rob Corddry, Clark Duke, Collette Wolfe, and Lyndsy FonsecaChevy Chase and Crispin Glover both have small, but enjoyable parts as well.  William Zabka, aka Johnny from the Karate Kid, also makes a cameo appearance as does Thomas Lennon.  So, this movie is set in the 1980s, has a solid soundtrack, and an even better cast.  Even if none of that was true I would still be tempted to add this movie to the top 10 because of two words: Lizzy Caplan.  Nuff said.

08. Youth in Revolt – R

The main reason I watched this was for Zach Galifianakis, but the rest of the cast includes Michael Cera, Portia Doubleday, Jean Smart, Steve Buscemi, Fred Willard, Ray Liotta, and Justin Long.  Not too shabby.  The story itself is pretty cool too.  Cera’s character goes to criminal lengths in order to woo Doubleday’s character.  I need to watch it again to see if it holds up well, but I liked my initial viewing.

07. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World – PG-13

Michael Cera strikes again.  This time in order to woo his even hotter counterpart, played by Mary Elizabeth Winestead, he must fight off her seven exes in a crazy and colorful video game inspired reality.  If you like video games and comic books, you’ll be right at home.  In fact, the movie is based on a comic book.  The rest of the cast is also strong, and full of hotties.  The cast includes Alison Pill, Ellen Wong, Brie Larson, Anna Kendrick, Aubrey Plaza, Abigail Chu, Satya Bhabha, Chris Evans, Mae Whitman, Brandon Routh, Thomas Jane, Clifton Collins Jr., and Jason Schwartzman.  They all did a good job, but Kieran Culkin stole the show as the gay roommate.

06. Rush: Beyond the Lighted Stage – unrated

An awesome documentary on one of the most underrated yet influential bands of all time.  It doesn’t hurt that Rush happens to be one of my favorite bands too.  Still, I think even non-Rush fans could find this to be an enjoyable watch.  There are remarks from tons of people like Les Claypool, Jack Black, Sebastian Bach, Kirk Hammett, Billy Corgan, Taylor Hawkins, Tim Commerford, Vinnie Paul, Mike Portnoy, Trent Reznor, Gene Simmons, Matt Stone, Zakk Wylde, the guys themselves, and several others.  I definitely whipped out the old four-string after watching this one, and finally got around to reading Anthem too.  I’m hard pressed to name many movies that actually inspire me to do something.

05. Inception – PG-13

I’m pretty sure the hype and South Park’s spoof tainted my appreciation for this film.  I still enjoyed it, but I think I would have liked it a lot more if I would have gone in cold.  The cast is stocked full of solid components, the action is well-paced, and yet a ton of dialogue is interspersed to help make sense of the still easily confused story.  The greatest aspect of the movie is the fact that there is no clear cut conclusion.  Well, there is, but what that conclusion means is very much up for debate, and the nerds of the net have seen to that ad nauseam.  This was the first thing I had seen Marion Cotillard in since an episode of Highlander, and her performance definitely makes me want to see more.  Listing the rest of the cast would take another page.  It’s chocked full of awesome.

04. Sherlock Holmes – PG-13

I was watching this film, and thinking that the director really ripped off Guy Ritchie.  Then I saw it was Guy Ritchie, and felt a lot better about enjoying it like I did.  Before I realized it was him I felt a little disloyal.  Now I just feel sheepish for not remembering it in the first place as I’ve really liked his other stuff.  Robert Downey Jr., is solid as usual, as is Jude LawRachel McAdams might be the cutest woman in the business, and Mark Strong has fast become one of my favorite actors.  The music was as raucous as the action, and I can’t wait for the unveiling of Moriarty via a sequel.

03. Wild Target – PG-13

You know how I said Rachel McAdams was the cutest woman in the business, Emily Blunt might be the most alluring.  Again, there are more attractive women, but I just really dig her.  I didn’t even watch this because of her, but was quite pleased with her performance.  I mostly got it for Bill Nighy, and Rupert Grint.  Meanwhile Rupert Everett, Eileen Atkins, and Martin Freeman round out the cast.  Admittedly, I am a bit of an anglophile, and particularly so when it comes to comedies, but I really liked this film.  It was lighthearted, but had enough emotion to it to keep me from discarding it as just another comedy.  I definitely plan on watching this one again, if nothing else than to see Bill Nighy in action.  In many ways, I think of him as the ideal debonair man.  He’s not quite as pimp as Cary Grant, but I’m not sure there is anyone else out there that comes as close to being as cool.

02. MacGruber – R

If not for The Blues Brothers, this would be the hands down best SNL film of all time.  It might be anyway.  I think Jorma Taccone is amazingly funny anyway, and he took vulgarity to new heights with this one.  The sound alone deserves some kind of award.  This movie could have failed miserably, but the story works and the cast is perfect.  Will Forte is there of course, as is Kristen Wiig.  They are joined by Ryan Phillippe, Val Kilmer, Powers Boothe, Maya Rudolph, and several cameo appearances.  The whole ongoing taunting between Forte and Kilmer’s characters is epic.  If you like absurdly vulgar comedy then this is the movie for you.

01. Kick-Ass – R

As apt as a name as you could possibly get.  If I had a shot at Lyndsy Fonseca I would try becoming a superhero to woo her too.  Strictly speaking, Aaron Johnson‘s eponymous character gives being a superhero  a shot first, and getting the girl was a nice result.  What a result.  He may get all of his bones broken, but he’d still be a lucky bastard in my book.  Mark Strong is awesome. I think I mentioned that in the Sherlock Holmes section, but it’s worth repeating.  Christopher Mintz-Plasse also turns in a surprisingly deep performance.  Well, as deep as the movie can yield anyway.  Nicolas Cage also finally gets the perfect role for using some over the top acting, and he delivers.  As awesome as that cast is on its own, Chloe Moretz blows them all away.  Critics pissed and moaned about a girl saying and doing the things she does in the film, but it is based on a comic, and she kills it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. KittyKat permalink
    July 2, 2011 4:46 pm

    You like teenage films yet you have no spelling mistakes and your grammar is good, why. Oh and those films are awful and most American actors are awful. Helena doesn’t do those sort of ‘comedies’ if you can call them that.

  2. July 2, 2011 5:04 pm

    First of all, thank your for the compliment on my grammar. I can assure you there are mistakes aplenty.

    Secondly, teenage films? Youth in Revolt might be considered a teenage film I guess. I actually hate teenyboppers and the films that get made to appease their mindless fanaticism. That’s one of the reasons I have cited for hating HBC: her immature fans. I admit it’s not wholly fair to her, but life isn’t fair sometimes.

    Your anti-American diatribes are laughable. If you’d have read my blog a bit before posting such nonsense you’d see that I am very much an Anglophile in terms of acting and comedy in general.

Leave a Reply

