Skip to content

My Top 10 Least Favorite Movies of 2011

January 4, 2012

10. The Hangover Part II – R

I actually still enjoyed this film despite the fact that they pulled an Austin Powers, and made it exactly like the first film with one key exception: a monkey.  Monkeys are awesome.  Not awesome enough to sate my anger from being shoveled the same film in a different location, but still awesome.

09. The Green Hornet – PG-13

I don’t exactly hate this movie either, but I needed ten movies to be on my least favorite list.  That, and this one just never did much for me.  It was at best a decent popcorn flick, but Seth Rogen is one of my favorites and decent just doesn’t cut it.  Also, what a waste of Cristoph Waltz’s talent.

08. Our Idiot Brother – R

This film had several of my favorites: Zooey Deschanel, Paul Rudd, Rashida Jones, Adam Scott, and Elizabeth Banks.  It still managed to suck.  It just felt generic.  Not just unoriginal, but even inadequate during the few times of originality.

07. Arthur – PG-13

I never saw all of the original, but it surely couldn’t have been this sterile.  I like Russell Brand, and Helen Mirren is just plain awesome.  Neither is utilized properly in this film.  Mirren is excellent of course, but otherwise wasted on this sorry piece of crap.  Brand doesn’t seem to be given full opportunity to do what makes him funny.  He was hamstrung by the original I think.  I like this film for introducing me to Greta Gerwig who I instantly liked, but it seemed like she was a poor man’s Zooey Deschanel here.

06. Contagion – PG-13

A phenomenal cast for this one (Marion Cotillard, Kate Winslet, Matt Damon, Gwyneth Paltrow, Laurence Fishburne, and Jude Law), but was there a plot?  OK, a horrible disease strikes.  Who’s the protagonist?  It just seemed like four people’s perspective of the situation slapped together.  There was some fantastic technique, but I just kept waiting to feel something beyond a passing interest in the characters.  In many respects this should be number one because of the sheer disappointment, but the otherwise excellent filmmaking still shines enough to save it from that fate.

05. Batman Year One – PG-13

The worst Batman ever.  At least George Clooney made an okay Bruce Wayne.  Bryan Cranston was excellent as Gordon though.

04. Everything Must Go – R

One of those dramas where something bad happens, and then when you think nothing worse can happen they kick the three legged dog after it tripped on it’s freshly broken front leg just to be reassured at the end that bones can heal. Forget that nonsense. Real comfort comes when the dog is put down.

03. Transformers: Dark of the Moon – PG-13

Sigh.  I wasn’t even given the benefit of looking at Megan Fox.

02. The Smurfs – PG

You might be stunned, but it just wasn’t very good.  I expected very little, and was given even less. Well done.

01. Atlas Shrugged: Part I – PG-13

This one hurts.  I couldn’t even get half way through.  Why can’t they just do a mini-series on HBO instead of making this third-rate crap?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

