Skip to content

My Top 10 Movies of 2017

December 29, 2017

10. Mindhorn – TVMA

Apparently, this was a made for TV film, but I rather enjoyed it. Oddball British comedy. That has been a part of my life from a very early age, and this film doesn’t diminish my love of the genre.

9. Get Out – R

Equal part funny and horrifying. It’s a commentary on social injustice but also just a darn fine piece of science fiction thriller. Then again, that’s pretty much what the best of science fiction offers: commentary on society. I call it science fiction, but it’s not like they’re in space or any of that.

8. Dunkirk – PG-13

I saw this in the theater and immediately wished I had ear plugs. I have never felt such a visceral reaction to a film with the possible exception being Saving Private Ryan. I recently watched it again at home, and I enjoyed the film even more. Rather, I enjoyed it beyond the spectacle. I still wish they wouldn’t have whitewashed the dismissal of French involvement, but I think I judged that aspect too harshly the first time. Obviously, not every aspect of the withdrawal could or should be shown if you want a coherent cinematic experience.

7. It – R

I have always been a fan of the made for TV adaptation from back in the day, but this is an exceptional improvement upon it. Scary, engaging, charming, and just satisfying. I am looking forward to the sequel.

6. Wonder Woman – PG-13

Finally, DC released a movie that isn’t a Nolan Batman flick that didn’t suck. Not surprisingly, they let other directors and writers make the film. Maybe think about that DC. The other films all fall short and all use the same storytellers… hmm?

5. Logan – R

The best thing about Logan is how they take the whole superhero genre and turn it on its head. It’s completely different than any other. It’s just a drama about people that happen to have super powers.

4. Spider-Man: Homecoming – PG-13

The best Spider-Man movie yet. I say that with all of the authority of someone who has never read a Spider-Man comic. It was fun though. It wasn’t campy, and it solid performances all around. It didn’t hurt that it was written by one of the Freaks and Geeks alumni. I still follow all of the cast as much as possible, and they seldom disappoint.

3. The Hippopotamus – Unrated I think

The film adaptation of a book written by Stephen Fry (my favorite Renaissance man). It felt like Stephen Fry was the star even without ever seeing him. Roger Allam was fantastic. My kind of humor and irreverence.

2.  Thor: Ragnarok – PG-13

Thoroughly entertaining from start to finish. By far the best Thor film. They stopped taking themselves too seriously and went the route of Guardians of the Galaxy. Funny, pretty to watch, and action packed. Just good times.

1. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 – PG-13

The perfect superhero experience. Action, comedy galore, eye candy in every shot, and actual emotion that any of us can relate to delivered in easily digestible doses that taste oh so good. I literally laughed, and I literally cried. I love this movie. The amazing thing is I am not sure if it’s better than the first film in the series. See Star Wars, that’s how it’s done.

No comments yet

Leave a comment